Uganda Electoral Commission 7 year Term of Office Ends


The President of the Republic Uganda, will soon appoint a new Electoral Commission to inspect over the 2026 general elections.

This comes after the expiry of the existing Commission under the lead of Justice Simon Mugenyi Bwabakama of 7-year term of office.

The Electoral Commission was set up under Article 60 of the 1995 Constitution.

It operates with a lead of the Chairman, Deputy Chairperson and five other members appointed by the President with the approval of Parliament and a Secretariat headed by the Secretary.

According to the commission Spokesperson Paul Bukenya, “What we have now is the end of term of office of the current Commission.”

“What happens next is a matter before the appointment authority (President),” he added.

The EC members are Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama, who is the chairperson; Hajjat Aisha Lubega (deputy chairperson); Peter Emorut; Justine Ahabwe Mugabi; Stephen Tashobya; Sebaggala Mustapha Kigozi; and Nathaline Etomaru.

President Museveni appointed current Commission on November 18, 2016, and now the term of office expired on November 18, 2023.

According to the Constitution, “the members of the Commission shall hold office for seven years, and their appointment may be renewed for one more term only.”

However, the Commission has not received yet its contract renewal letter from the appointing authority.

Byabakama’s team presided over the 2021 general election and had also rolled out the 2026 election roadmap.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here